Starstruck

I cannot believe that we only have two days left in Cambridge. I will miss this place so much. It’s been a whirlwind summer but a great one nonetheless. Today I have my last classes, and my last paper is due tonight then I’m done with school until September. For my last graphic narratives class, we went to get tea and scones and talked about our final projects.

Yesterday we finally went punting, after 6 weeks in Cambridge and multiple people badgering us on the streets to go. For those of you who don’t know (I didn’t before I got to Cambridge), punting is essentially riding in a gondola along the backs of the colleges. We had thirteen people, and boats only fit twelve, so we had a bit of a problem. Nine went in one boat, and then Sarah, Lauren, and I went in another boat with a family from Greece. We convinced Dennis, or program director, to come with us, and he even took a selfie on his phone with the eight others in his boat.

The three of us had a lovely time on our punting tour, with our adorable tour guide Charlie, whose accent made the whole tour better. Selfies were obviously in order.

IMG_5966 IMG_5982 IMG_5992IMG_5985  IMG_5996

Afterwards, we went to dinner and had fish pie, which was questionable at best. Half of the group didn’t even come to dinner, but the menu said chocolate cake for dessert, so I had to brave the fish to get the cake. At dinner we taught Dennis some hip phrases, like “Did you see my snap?” and “Toss me an L on the gram,” because he said that when punting he was confused by some of the lingo we were using.

After dinner, a few of us went to the JCR to do homework and something magical happened. As we were writing our papers, a certain famous physicist rolled by. Yes, that’s right, we saw Stephen Hawking. He is a fellow at Gonville and Cauis, and occasionally comes to the college for dinner or events. I never thought he would actually be there when we were though. I’ve seen his office, which is right across from our classroom, before, but this was just surreal. The six of us who were in the JCR obviously freaked out, and ran outside and peeked around the corner to watch him roll out of the gates. Then, we went to ask the porters if that was in fact Stephen Hawking, and they said yes unexcitedly, all while we were are starstruck and our hearts were racing. What a great moment to nearly end the program.

Leave a comment