Tidbits of Life

Things are finally back to “normal” this week until we leave for Scotland on Thursday, which will start a whole new chapter of European traveling. We are staying at the University of Edinburgh for three nights, and our days are pretty much our own.

I finally finished the book I brought to start on the plane ride here. It is called Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng, and I highly recommend it. The book is about a mixed race family in Ohio in the 70s whose daughter is found dead in the nearby lake. I’m into thrillers and mysteries, and I thought this was more of a mystery novel than it is. It focuses more on the family and the struggles they face rather than the mystery of what happened to the girl, and it was a powerful and interesting read.

All these New England kids say “wicked” all the time. Like, “it was wicked good” or “I’m wicked tired”. At first I was like, pretty sure wicked means evil or sinister. But now, I think it’s starting to rub off on me. Maybe. We’ll see. I’ve been told I have a Chicago accent though, which I thoroughly enjoy.  I’ve had an unreasonable amount of Chicago pride on this trip, bringing the city into multiple conversations and freaking out whenever I see anyone wearing something that says Chicago on the street. At the Dover Castle, I saw a man wearing a Bears hat so I asked him if he was from Chicago. In a British accent he said no, he just liked the Bears. I was v confused because why would you like the Bears if you’re from the UK?

Another note: All of the people here are so good looking. The boys are mostly all inexplicably attractive and the girls are like stylish supermodels. They put Americans to shame. I seriously wish I could be as stylish as these girls, but shopping is hard.

Leave a comment